Changing encryption password?

parrot version = 4.19.0

Please bare with me as I am new to Parrot Linux. I’ve encrypted my hard-drive with a password and now I wish to change that that password. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

• dustin

Hi @g27xdustin, welcome to the Parrot community.

Do you know your existing password to decrypt the hard drive?

If you know your existing password and can log in to the system, you can do the following:

1. sudo apt-get install gnome-disk-utility && sudo apt-get install gnome-disks
  2. open Disks and Select Device, select volume, Click cogs (more actions) -> “Change passphrase”

There are other medthods (see below) to achieve the same result, but I think the above steps may be better suited to your needs.
sudo cryptsetup -y luksAddKey ENCRYPTED_PARTITION
sudo cryptsetup luksRemoveKey ENCRYPTED_PARTITION

Thanks for the quick response! So… I tried both methods and they did not work.

The problem with the first method is that Terminal is telling me that it cannot find “gnome-disks.”

The second method just prevents me from changing the passcode.

I guess this speaks to the security of Parrot!

I just tested this and it worked, just run without the gnome-disks install.

1. sudo apt-get install gnome-disk-utility
  2. open Disks and Select Device, select volume, Click cogs (more actions) -> “Change passphrase”

Tried that as well. When I go to disks, the option to change the pass phrase is grayed out.

Also, on a side note, do we not have root access to parrot? When it asks for administrative password, I put in my regular password and it does not work…

1. When you go into disks, are you selecting the LUKS partition? I’ll post a screenshot in a minute I can change it on my machine
  2. I should’ve asked but what version of Parrot are you running? You said 4.19, but that’s the kernel.