Flutter/Android development issues

Briefly describe your issue below:

Hi,

I am trying to use Parrot OS as a development platform for Flutter/Android (I’m just learning Flutter as a new skill). I used Windows 10 before but figured I want to try Parrot.
I am running into many many issues, I solve one and get stuck in another like a whack-a-mole game. I am spending more time setting up my OS and not learning to code. :slight_smile:

Has anyone used Parrot OS for as a development environment for Android/Flutter? If so, can you help walk me through the different modifications and setup needed to get to a working system? I know this is a general question and not a specific error, but I figured first I’ll find if anyone was able to setup their development environment. We can go over the specific points I get stuck at later.

Thank you!

What version of Parrot are you running? (include version, edition, and architecture)

Parrot 4.5.1 Home edition, AMD64

Hi. Is it a problem of installing any IDE? What kind of issues are you running into?

Simply install any popular Flutter/Android IDE and work (Android Studio for example). But be careful by downloading apps from untrusted sources.

Honestly, it is not one specific issue.
I have been following the regular installation instructions according to the Flutter official website (and I am using VSCodium as my editor), but it seems that every turn I run into issues.

1. Initially VSCodium gave me issues with installing plugins.
  2. Then I ran into issues connect to the Android device using ADB.
  3. Now I run into an issue where I can do a “flutter run” command from the terminal proper, but doing it from inside the VSCodium built-in terminal gives me an error: “Exception in thread “main” java.io.FileNotFoundException: /home/yoav/.gradle/wrapper/dists/gradle-4.10.2-all/9fahxiiecdb76a5g3aw9oi8rv/gradle-4.10.2-all.zip.lck (Permission denied)”.