How to install parrot linux on external hard disk ?

Hello everybody !
I am new to community so please consider me as not very much knowledged.I have a macbook air in which I have already installed parrot security os and it works quite well.But now I need to install parrot security os on an external hard disk.I searched on internet but didn’t found any exact answer.The only 2 ways I found were either to remove the internal hard disk (which I am not willing to do on my macbook) or to disable internal hard disk (i am not finding a way to do it on my macbook).Please someone help me with a solution for this.

1 Like

I think you are just asking about a live OS image. A flash drive, thumb drive, or external HDD/SSD will all be very similar, or the same. There are really 2 parts to your query - 1) getting Parrot onto a drive and 2) getting your Mac to boot from an external drive.

There is a ton of info about creating bootable drives. The only thing you have to decide is if you want persistence.
https://docs.parrotlinux.org/getting-started/create-boot-device/
https://docs.parrotlinux.org/info/usb-live-persist/

I am not familiar with Mac, but google will be your friend.

Good luck!

1 Like

Hi @Raghav_Deo!

I do something unorthodox and install Parrot (or other Linux distros) directly onto USB thumb drives. I can boot off them and use them without needing any kind of persistence. My 128 GB USB 3.1 thumb drive is completely encrypted and running Parrot 4.11 great. I just boot off another USB drive imaged with balenaEtcher with the Parrot ISO and choose the other USB thumb drive to install Parrot on.

I’ve also used VMware and/or VirtualBox to boot off the Parrot ISO and choose whatever thumbdrive I want to use Parrot on.