New laptop suggestions

(super_boy) #1

Hi all:

I am new to the parrot OS and just recently installed it on my old macbook air 2011 model and am just getting into the whole linux / debian environment. I downloaded the pdf handbook and slowly picking my way through it.

I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions for new laptop? I am looking at surface pro or macbook again? I dont know if having touch is much of an advantage in this matter to learn hacking etc, but I plan on using the laptop for regular stuff too not just hacking …

Thanks a bunch in advance, I am excited to part of something new (to me atleast)

Regards,

Tz

(Kilian) #2

Hey, if you want to be able to install any system on your new laptop, don’t take surface pro, the driver for the touch screen and unincluded keyboard does not exist for linux, you won’t be able to use nor install other system than the provided windows 10.

(Tim Apple) #3

I can vouch for System76 hardware, it is Rock solid and designed to run Linux… if your on the other side of the pond, I believe Entroware is a similar company.

(super_boy) #4

that is very good news, except I am fairly new to all this so I dont know what the system 76 means :frowning:

(super_boy) #5

Thanks for the update, I will stay away from that touch screen stuff and my next laptop in the row was T470 lenovo or macbook … not the pro or air …

(super_boy) #6

I also have another dumb question, I apologize in advance, I plan on using this as a day-to-day laptop as well but even some long movies on yourtube are not streaming / very slow; is this hardware issue or software issue ?

if you want a laptop for both commercial and hacking you’ll need a laptop with minimum 4-8 GB. cuz you need to get your hands dirty. for that you may need to create virtual machines. for that minimum 4-8GB laptop is required.
touch screen might be not that useful in linux.
as you’ve said you wanna use it for commercial purpose too which includes gaming and office documentation.