New to Linux Intel AC 8270

Sorry in advance for writing a book here, but I’m frustrated with Parrot, Debian, and Linux as a whole. I’m trying to break away from Windows and want to migrate to Linux. I don’t know a lot about Linux, so I wanted to set up a dual boot system so I can learn Linux, but if something comes up that I need to get done and haven’t yet learned in Linux I can boot to Win10. I keep running into one issue after the next though, and it really hasn’t been working out.

I started out trying to install Pentoo because I’m an amateur radio operator and wanted to get into SDR. My SDR has a lot of tutorials and it recommends Pentoo. I couldn’t get it installed. I tried Gentoo thinking if I could get that working I could install the tools I want that are in Pentoo, but had the same issues.

I then tried Kali, and it’s the one distro that’s worked! But I’ve read that it’s not good to have as a primary operating system since it runs in root, so decided against it after about a week.

I then moved to some others like Zorin, Ubuntu etc. (even though there aren’t many tutorials about them for use with Software Define Radios), and two of them worked initially, but I ran into issues with the dual boot set up. The computer would turn on and load grub, and let me select the Win or linux OS, and if I selected Linux it would work, I could turn the system off and it would restart to grub, but if I selected Windows, when I would finish my session and turned the computer off, upon restarting I would find Windows automatically changed my boot settings to load windows. I spent about a week working on it, and found Refind. I installed it in the EFI partition, which fixed the problem for about 2 weeks. Then about 2 weeks later Windows updated, and changed things, and the problem came right back. I tried reinstalling Refind and everything else about 10 times, it wouldn’t work, and I ended up giving up.