Ricochet, KeePassXC

Hello lovely people of this community,

I just installed Parrot 4.1 and I am basically a total newbie to linux. I have been using Win 7/Win 10. Anyway, so far I have encountered a real issue:

When I start Ricochet IM, which comes preinstalled with this version, somehow it seems not to save my configuration after the first start-up. When I restart the program, all contacts are lost and it is like I have never started the programm. When I open Ricochet IM, it says “sandboxed or root”. I assume that this is the problem but I don’t know how to turn off the sandbox so my configuration is saved.

Is there a way to fix this problem and to generally turn off the sandbox for certain programs? Also I have saved the config data from my Windows installation. Is there any way to import my old account and contacts?

Importing my old account isn’t that much of an issue as I know how to access the ricochet IDs from my contacts and can re-add them with a new config. But losing all my added contacts after restarting Ricochet IM is a real issue to me because I can’t just be re-adding people any time I want to chat with them.

Also, somehow the program KeePassXC, which also comes pre-installed with this version of Parrot OS, won’t open. Nothing happens when I try to open the program from the menu.

Why is that? Isn’t there a GUI? How can I get the program to work?

I know I will have to learn a lot about how to use Parrot OS/debian but I really need Ricochet IM to be fixed and don’t know how or where to start. The KeePassXC isn’t really an issue as I have installed KeePass2 via apt-get and can access my passwords. Still I am wondering what this KeePassXC is.

I am running Parrot Home 4.1 64-bit and installed with Debian standard. I don’t use multiboot.

Thanks a lot for your time reading and the effort you people have put into creating this OS!

keepass wont open because of firejail you can open keepass via the command line using
firejail --noprofile keepassxc