Tor - no browsing results with the safest option

Hi everyone!

On my new installed Parrot I launched Tor set on the safest option for browsing and I get no results when searching for something - nothing. The moment I change it to the “safer” option it works flawless.
But why don’t I get any results? I’m new to Linux and sudo.

I have done “sudo apt update” and “sudo apt full-upgrade”. I removed and reinstalled Tor with the synaptic package manager, no change.

help is appreciated.

DISTRIB_ID=Parrot
DISTRIB_RELEASE=4.10
DISTRIB_CODENAME=rolling
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION=“Parrot 4.10”
PRETTY_NAME=“Parrot GNU/Linux 4.10”
NAME=“Parrot GNU/Linux”
ID=parrot
ID_LIKE=debian
VERSION=“4.10”
VERSION_ID=“4.10”

uname -a:
Linux pc 5.7.0-2parrot2-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 5.7.10-1parrot2 (2020-07-31) x86_64 GNU/Linux

fresh install with the Calamares installer, ISO created on Mint with the USB creator
single boot

This is because the “safest option” disables javascript/blocks potential issues yet those same features are required by many web pages.

For a safer experience try: https://3g2upl4pq6kufc4m.onion/html (Duckduckgo hidden service)

The .onion link is end to end encrypted between tor client and server. Multiple extra hops add extra layers of network to better protect privacy.

Set this as your main search engine link. You can use it on safest mode. :slight_smile:

thanks for the replay, but this is not the cause.
I installed Parrot before and I got always results within the “saftest option”.
It was like you mentioned “disabled javascript results” but there where results.

I don’t get it why? the link is great, thx

Once in a while there is a ‘bug’ that gets patched… In fact I thought I remembered this bug.

Check here to see why it worked before:

Maybe there is really a difference in versions?