Total Noob Question...Resources?

Hi,

I am an Electrical Engineering and Computer Science student college dropout. The longer I was in school, the more it felt like a gigantic waste of time and money, at least where I was going to school.

With the amount of high-quality education online completely for free (alone, not to mention at lower costs to schools and universities), I do not feel the need to purchase a degree today, I’d rather invest my money into my education my own way. I dropped out probably about four years ago now and I have not regretted that decision, not even once. There are times, however, that the “structure” or lack thereof with the way I have been educating myself makes…well…educating myself a little bit more difficult.

A few simple examples for roadblocks I have come across are when I want to learn more about carbon fiber, sports car engine tuning/mapping/ECU/ECM programming, industrial robotics and industrial programming in general, enterprise-level examples of good quality programming or excerpts of code that would be prudent to include in more professional/enterprise/industrial software/firmware, some of the new machine learning concepts (but that is so new it isn’t even in curriculum yet), and last but certainly not least: Security Penetration Testing.

I feel like a lot of the areas I named aren’t really documented or explained particularly well. There is also a clear issue with certain topics such as coding, carbon fiber, and security that tend to be closely guarded trade secrets or extremely proprietary. Many mechanical mechanisms that are patented are relatively easy to reverse-engineer…but with security penetration testing…where do you start??