Parrot Community

Community portal of the Parrot Project.

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Welcome Aboard Pirate!

Support us on Patreon and contribute to our project!

HappyHacking!

#1 2018-01-12 19:09:12

Venom
Unconfirmed Member
Registered: 2018-01-05
Posts: 2

Starting Brave browser

I'm unable to start Brave browser. I installed it by following instructions from official Github repository without errors, but i still couldn't start it from menu. Has anyone tried it or had any problems with it? Any possible fixes?

Offline

#2 2018-01-12 20:52:06

m3lst4d
Community Member
Registered: 2018-01-12
Posts: 7

Re: Starting Brave browser

"NOTE: If Brave does not start and shows an error about sandboxing, you may need to enable userns in your kernel. Running with the --no-sandbox flag is NOT recommended!"

To temporarily enable userns in your kernel you can execute the following either with sudo or as root

sysctl kernel.unprivileged_userns_clone=1

If you want the change to be persistant across boot you would need to execute the following

echo 'kernel.unprivileged_userns_clone=1' > /etc/sysctl.d/00-local-userns.conf
service procps restart

Offline

#3 2018-01-13 14:50:28

Venom
Unconfirmed Member
Registered: 2018-01-05
Posts: 2

Re: Starting Brave browser

Thanks a lot, it works now!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Design by Klocek.