bWAPP / MariaDB / mysql

Hi all!

So I am fairly new to Parrot / Kali ( about 2 months in). I can’t even explain to you how much I have learned about these awesome OS’s but also about net security in general, but I have finally found an issue that I have not been able to resolve through google searches and trial and error.

I would really like to explore the bWAPP app, but I just cannot get it to connect using maria. It took me a few hours of trying to install and get mysql working before I read on here that it wasn’t supported anymore, so then i switched my tactics to Mariadb.

Has anyone here had experience getting bWAPP to work on Parrot? I actually switched back to a VM Kali to see if I could get it working there and I was also unsuccessful so its gotta be something I am doing.

I have tried to create my own database through Maria, ive tried changing the information/ passwords in all combinations on the PHP file for bWAPP. Ive tried putting my new database information into that file with the database I created through the file and still I cannont connect.

I keep recieving the dreaded " Access Denied" when i try to connect to the installation page once I have started Apache2 and Mariadb. I mean at this point I have probably spent like 7 hours troublshooting the damn thing. At times I was like " ok, plenty of other learning resources out there…" but then I see how cool it looks and I WANT IN! haha!

If anyone can type a quick step by step, or offer me some guidance, man i would really appreciate it!

Once again, I am new to this and my C/ command skills are improving but still defenitely novice so go easy on me! :).