Can I get some help with partitions? More quests..

Briefly describe your issue below:

I need a little bit of help as it relates to doing a clean install of Parrot. The problem I run into is that when I use guided partition, it doesn’t allow me to change the / file to more than about 30 gigs. As a result, I end up with a full partition really quickly. Yes I am fairly new to Linux, but I am trying to do a bit of a career change and learn some new things. I’ve searched for awhile to try to find a guide that could let me know which partitions to use. I’ve found some regarding Arch, which seems to suggest ext4 over btfrs, if I got that correctly. Yet it doesn’t seem to pan over from Arch to Debian based. Another thing is I installed VirtualBox and tried to install Parrot OVA, but there wasn’t enough space for me to put it on. FYI, I have a 500 gb SSD.

So in short, should I be using multiple partitions or just have everything in one file (as it suggests for new users)? I’ve done 5+ reinstalls and still can’t figure it out. I did a manual partition with multiple partitions and managed to mess that up. There are some Linux articles that suggest I don’t need to use different partitions at all and install everything on one as long as I encrypt my SSD before logging in (which I have been doing).

Another problem I’ve had as it upgraded me from 4.7 to 4.8, but my screen now stops… I have a total of 5 screens and 2 or 3 of them just flat out freeze all together. MATE for the desktop.

Anyone try KDE on 4.8? I booted LIVE 4.7 into it, and I really liked it, but I don’t want to miss out on the simplicity of MATE.