cant log into root/missing root files

Briefly describe your issue below:
hello,
ok sorry about this im still a noob in linux,
im running parrotsec 4.2.2 amd 64, on a i7 x230 16gb ram,
IDK about method to install, originally USB, recently apt-get update
it is not a multi-boot, Parrot is my only OS
i have been locked out of root for a couple months, recently tried to reset the pass w/ init=/bin/bash/, it never worked, then i realized in /home i have tj (my daily use) root (with 0 files) and roo with 7 files, desktop Mozilla, .local, .config, templates, .profile, .bashrc. thats it.
obviously i screwed something up, is this fixable without doing a complete reinstall?
my main account (tj) works fine, and since i dont know the passwords (i actually do, they arent working) is there a simple way out?
your help/time is greatly appreciated!

love the distro! keep up the awesomme work!\

Try

i have tried that, but i did again. it successfully changed the password, so i logged out, and tried to log in, no luck. FYI i tried on both root and roo. nothing.
i have followed instruction for forgotten root pass for debain stretch as well, thats where the init=/bin/bash/, after editing the boot info as described, no luck there either.
can i delete the root user, then add it again, set the pass, and solve it like that?
and i do use sudo when changing things, but whats the difference between su/sudo, su is only good for 1 use at a time? is that correct?
thanks for taking the time to try to help me!

and to clarify, for example if i run, under my daily account (tj), $ sudo apt-get update, it asks for my pass or , (sudo) password for tj; that it accepts.
if i wanna change permissions on a file, or usb drive-its not having it.
Ive even double checked control panel/users/root/group permissions (both root & roo actually).
if my daily account tj, was also given root privileges in groups-would that cause an issue?
are 2 users allowed root access?