GRUB2/Boot Prob - Win10/PSec-4.4 Dual

Briefly describe your issue below:

What version of Parrot are you running? Parrot Security OS 4.4

What method did you use to install Parrot? Debian GTK + Debian Standard

Configured to multiboot with other systems? Yes

If there are any similar issues or solutions, link to them below:

If there are any error messages or relevant logs, post them below:

HI all,

I have come to accept I am now out of my depth and need some advice on a starting point to resolve my boot issues.

In brief, I have been running a dual boot Win10/PSec setup for pretty much all 2018, updating regularly to the new versions and it’s been great.

I installed Parrot 4.4 today as a fresh install having made mistakes and learning lessons with the previous installation. I wiped the ext3 and swap partitions and formatted as a basic volume through Win10 - leaving me a fresh unallocated 100GB continuous free space.

Went through the GTK installer, took the guided partitioning install to largest continuous free space and let the installer do it’s thing - no errors were raised.

Upon boot “Error unknown filesystem” and a grub2 recovery> prompt.

I can ctrl+alt+del and bot into my BIOS and start Parrot and it runs wonderfully, as does my Win10 Partition.

I hope you will take my word that I have investigated thoroughly all the varieties of solutions to this problem offered on GRUB2 wiki, I have used a live USB of Super GRUB2 to investigate further and finally a Rescatux live USB to attempt to fix this problem - all to no avail.

If I am honest, I no longer have a clear direction in mind - is the problem with GRUB or boot or UEFI or maybe even all three now that I have been poking around LOL

I am just trying to scrape together a partition map through windows - the one thing I do think is strange is my /boot partition as setup through Parrot install is only 1.0MB…

Read this