Installation fails at 81%

Briefly describe your issue below:

I am trying to install Parrot onto my laptop. Laptop has 500GB HDD with 4GB RAM. I am trying to install Parrot Security from inside the live mode.

What version of Parrot are you running? (include version, edition, and architecture)

Parrot 4.10 on kernel 5.7.0-2parrot2-amd64 x86_64 KDE

What method did you use to install Parrot? (Debian Standard / Debian GTK / parrot-experimental)

Debian GTK

Configured to multiboot with other systems? (yes / no)

No

If there are any similar issues or solutions, link to them below:

No

If there are any error messages or relevant logs, post them below:

Please note I am new to Parrot Security and have moved from kali linux. Would appreciate a simple explanation.

well from the starting, i would like to say that
please use balena-etcher for burning the iso
before burning the iso, check the hashes of the iso and verify it
after successfully verifying the iso and burning it, then you can proceed
after that
you can do standard installation no problem in any method you choose
if you want to install as in EFI

1. create a manual partition of around 500mb for that as mount it to /boot/efi
  2. then as your laptop has 4gigs of ram, getting a swap partition is beneficial, you can allocate any size you like, ideal will be 1-2gigs according to your usage,
  3. and the final partition will be of root and is to be mounted as /
    after all these you can go ahead
    and while installing grub make sure to install it on your harddrive not pendrive
    doing all this will successfully install Parrot os on your hard drive

Thank you for the easy to understand steps!

After following your steps while attempting to install Parrot in the live mode, it does get to the point of saying it’s successfully installed.

However when I restart the laptop and remove the usb it does not boot up the OS but instead goes to some EFI shell? I have attached a picture of it below.