Installation Problem on USB Sticks

Parrot security 4.3 amd64. Gigabyte z-97 Motherboard, Intel 4690K, only IGP, 16 GB Ram, several ssd and hd
Its running on a multiboot system with mac os x 10.10.5 and windows 7, but I have also tried installation with absolutely no disk attached.
An new Ubuntu installation with the latest amd64 runs well.
I must say, that I am new to Linux at all. But I have some experience with the terminal on os x.

Unfortunately, I have no luck booting an installed parrot.
The Live-USB image works well, but the installation does not boot.
I have tried several methods( standard, Gtk, standard partition, custom etc.) With several usb sticks (Sandisk, transcend) and an USB attached harddisk.

Only two times, I was able to boot:

1. I have left the live stick inserted. But after 2 boots, this did work no more.
  2. A partionioning with lvm. But after upgrading parrot, the disk was full. And no escape was possible. Also I do not want to use it, because of the bad maintainability of lvm.

All other tries ended in the same issue:

/dev/sdg2 does not exist

I have also tried the grub repair, as described in the gparted help, but without success.

Any hints?

Use the newest 4.5 img.

Newer versions are more reliable.

Hi, i have a few question for you so we can maybe find where the issues are.

1. How did you created your usb live ?

2. How did you performed the update ? You have to know that “sudo apt upgrade” will break the system

3. Why choosing ParrotSecurity edition if you are new to linux ? I suggest you download the last home edition, and if you are interested in pentesting you can always install all the tools using a single command: sudo apt update && sudo apt install parrot-tools-full

Hi K_L Kilian,

1. I have created the live usb with dd on os x. Unfortunately the live persistence can’t be configured from here.
  2. The system reminded me, and I pressed the OK button ( as far as I remember…so many fails in the last weeks) Bad idea.