Parrot distro choice for Anonsurf

Greetings,

I am new to Linux, and I am looking to divorce myself form Microsoft, and Parrot’s OS choices are on my short list of replacements. I am also considering MX Linux.

What caught my interest is Parrot’s Anonsurf feature, which, if I understand correctly, turns the OS into a Tor machine (similar to the Tails distro).

I do not need the numerous tools in the Security version of Parrot. So my questions are:

1. Does the Home version of Parrot include the Anonsurf feature?
    If yes, then my choice of a new OS is made.
    If no, is it simple to add?

2. If the only choice for getting the Anonsurf feature is to install the Security .iso, will that OS run the same as the Home version? In other words, can I just ignore all of the security applications, and use it the same way as the Home .iso can be used?

3. Ignoring the security tools (and ignoring the desktop choice), would that make the Home .iso basically the same as the Security .iso?

I am looking for a stable, versatile, spyware free, open-source alternative to Windows, and would love to have it include the Anonsurf feature. But I do not know if the Security version comes at the cost of something that is included only in the Home version.

Please advise.

Thank you.

Both have Anonsurf as it is a Parrot tool :slight_smile:

Parrot Home would likely be a good choice for someone not as interested in pentesting.

An idea: Try both out by burning each to a usb and booting to that USB running a “Live” (non install) experience. This way you can compare.

Add the tools you like using graphical package manager or apt command.

Search for packages using:

apt search packagename/description

install one you like:

apt install packageNameHere

Change your mind and want more tools on top of Home:

apt install parrot-tools-full
1 Like

Additional Meta-packages
Screenshot at 2020-06-28 jhd7td Screenshot at 2020-06-28 ye4734yu Screenshot at 2020-06-28 ysfw21

1 Like