PXE install from HTTP/FTP/NFS server?

Hello,

I am very new to Parrot linux but as it based on Debian [which I was using for extended period of time] I attempted to use PXE netboot and installation from HTTP/FTP/NFS server.

My attempt has failed regardless what approach I tried. I have copied initrd.img and vmlinuz from install directory in installation media [ISO file]. During the installation it expects for USB drive or CD/DVD disk with installation file [the installation has reference to /dev/sda and /dev/fd0].

Can somebody confirm that there is no way to run installation with current and initrd.img/vmlinuz over network?

At the same time I have found that PXE server can boot live image with installation media made available through web server. Looking through menu in running ‘live’ image I did not find any method to run installation [same approach as it is done in Ubuntu destributions].

If somebody would like to know settings to boot live image from PXE server I would be glad to share my findings.

Andromeda_x

What version of Parrot are you running? (include version, edition, and architecture)
Parrot 4.5.1 security/home/mate
What method did you use to install Parrot? (Debian Standard / Debian GTK / parrot-experimental)
PXE netboot approach
Configured to multiboot with other systems? (yes / no)
No
If there are any similar issues or solutions, link to them below:
???
If there are any error messages or relevant logs, post them below:
Installation expects to have installation media on /dev/sda or /dev/fd0 media – which does not work for PXE netboot approach [the installation media should be available through NFS/HTTP/FTP media]

Hi,

I did some additional research and read some forum’s post – in one of them was a reference to netboot [I was not aware of it’s existence before]

https://cdimage.parrotsec.org/parrot/dists/stable/main/installer-amd64/current/images/netboot/