WiFI card not working or not found

HI, I’m new to parrot and installing drivers so I’m a bit disoriented to this.
I can’t figure out why mi WiFi card isn’t detected on my laptop with dual boot, on WIndows 11 it works perfectly.

Laptop:
Gateway GWNR71517-BL

Parrot version:
VERSION_ID=“5.2”
VERSION=“5.2 (Electro Ara)”
VERSION_CODENAME=ara

Kernel version:
6.0.0-12parrot1-amd64

Tried to use this command to check its name but does not appear

inxi -F

and got this output

Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8153 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter type: USB driver: r8152
  IF: enx44ed570011bb state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full
    mac: 44:ed:57:00:11:bb
Bluetooth:
  Device-1: Realtek 802.11ac NIC type: USB driver: btusb
  Report: hciconfig ID: hci0 state: up address: B8:4D:43:7B:55:5B bt-v: 2.1

enx44ed570011bb is an Ethernet adapter i bought to plug to internet

Researching a bit, I discovered that some chipsets include WiFi and Bluetooth in the same device, but I do not know if that is the problem

Hi, the best inxi for determining your network is inxi -Nn
ensure if you are using external adaptors, they are plugged in run inxi -Nn and paste back the results,

[I am expecting to see a RTL88**** series wi-fi adaptor, if correct you will need to download the correct drivers and install them]

1 Like

Brian, you are indeed correct, that model does have an realtek adapter…

First thing is to sort out the build environment;

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install make gcc linux-headers-$(uname -r) build-essential git

Then follow this;

1 Like

Hi Fred
I find the 88*** series the worse, you have to get the right driver from gilt hub there are subtle differences depending on the letters that follows the chip number.

That repo has them all rolled up together, and it is up to date, quite a simple build set up.